Huntingdon Borough Reorganizational Meeting

Monday, January 3, 2022

The Huntingdon Borough Reorganizational meeting was held in the Borough Council room, 530 Washington Street, Huntingdon, PA 16652.

Members present were Councilman James Bair, Councilman Terry Green, Councilwoman Dee Dee Brown, Councilwoman Jennifer Powell, Councilman Bob Jackson, Mayor Thomas Yoder, Councilman David Fortson, Chief Streightiff, Solicitor Richard Wilson, Borough Manager Chris Stevens and Borough Secretary Richard King.

Guest present were Johnathan Hyde, Sean Steeg, David Wessels, David Quarry, Jim Morris, Gary Cramer, Dean Harris, Joan Cassatt, and Emily Loose.

Mayor Thomas Yoder called the Reorganizational meeting to order at 7:00 PM.

Mayor Thomas Yoder gave the Invocation.

Mayor Thomas Yoder presented the Pledge of Allegiance.

Mayor Thomas Yoder welcomed the visitors present.

Mayor Thomas Yoder proceeded to the nomination and election of a 2-year council seat position.

Mayor Thomas Yoder said we will now take nominations for the 2-year council position.

Councilwoman Dee Dee Brown nominated David Quarry.

Councilman James Bair second the nomination.

Mayor Thomas Yoder ask if there were any other nominations for the 2-year council position.

Councilman Terry Green nominated Johnathan Hyde.

Councilman Bob Jackson second the nomination.

Mayor Thomas Yoder ask if there were any other nominations for the 2-year council position.

Councilman Bob Jackson nominated Sean Steeg.

Councilwoman Jennifer Powell second the nomination.

Mayor Thomas Yoder ask if there were any other nominations for the 2-year council position.

Mayor Thomas Yoder said we will now have a roll call vote for the 2-year council position. Mayor said we will start with the 1st nomination of David Quarry.

Borough Secretary Richard King then took roll call for David Quarry to fill the 2-year council position.

Councilman James Bair	Yay
Councilman David Fortson	Yay
Councilwoman Jennifer Powell	Nay
Councilman Bob Jackson	Yay
Councilwoman Dee Dee Brown	Yay
Councilman Terry Green	Yay

Borough Secretary Richard King reported that the roll call vote for David Quarry to fill the 2-year council position was 5-Yay and 1-Nay.

Mayor Thomas Yoder reported that David Quarry was elected to fill the 2-year council position.

Mayor Thomas Yoder proceeded to swear in David Quarry for the council position.

Mayor Thomas Yoder proceeded to the nomination and election of Council President.

Mayor Thomas Yoder said we will now take nominations for Council President.

Councilman David Fortson nominated Councilman James Bair for Council President.

Councilwoman Dee Dee Brown second the nomination of Councilman James Bair.

Mayor Thomas Yoder ask if there were any other nominations for Council President.

There were none.

Mayor Thomas Yoder said we will now take a roll call vote of Councilman James Bair for Council President.

Borough Secretary Richard King then took a roll call vote of Councilman James Bair for Council President.

Councilman James Bair	Yay
Councilman David Fortson	Yay
Councilwoman Jennifer Powell	Yay
Councilman Bob Jackson	Yay
Councilwoman Dee Dee Brown	Yay
Councilman Terry Green	Yay
Councilman David Quarry	Yay

Borough Secretary Richard King reported that the roll call vote of Councilman James Bair for Council President was 7-Yay and 0-Nay.

Mayor Thomas Yoder reported that Councilman James Bair was elected President of Borough Council and presented President Bair with the gavel.

President James Bair said we will now take nominations for Vice-President of Borough Council.

Councilwoman Dee Dee Brown nominated Councilman David Fortson for Vice-President of Borough Council.

Councilman David Quarry second the nomination of Councilman David Fortson.

President James Bair ask if there were any other nominations for Vice-President of Borough Council.

There were none.

President James Bair said we will now take a roll call vote of Councilman David Fortson for Vice-President.

Borough Secretary Richard King then took a roll call vote of Councilman David Fortson for Vice-President.

Councilman James Bair Yay
Councilman David Fortson Yay
Councilwoman Jennifer Powell Yay
Councilman Bob Jackson Yay
Councilwoman Dee Dee Brown Yay

Councilman Terry Green Yay
Councilman David Quarry Yay

Borough Secretary Richard King reported the roll call vote of Councilman David Fortson for Vice-President of Borough Council was 7-Yay and 0-Nay.

President James Bair reported that Councilman David Fortson was elected Vice-President of Borough Council.

President James Bair said we will now take nomination for President Pro-Temp.

Vice-President David Fortson nominated Councilwoman Dee Dee Brown for President Pro-Temp.

Councilman David Quarry second the nomination of Councilwoman Dee Dee Brown for President Pro-Temp.

President James Bair ask if there were any other nominations for President Pro-Temp.

There were none.

President James Bair said we will now take a roll call vote of Councilwoman Dee Dee Brown for President Pro-Temp.

Borough Secretary Richard King then took a roll call vote of Councilwoman Dee Dee Brown for President Pro-Temp.

Councilman James Bair Yay
Councilman David Fortson Yay
Councilwoman Jennifer Powell Yay
Councilman Bob Jackson Yay
Councilwoman Dee Dee Brown Yay
Councilman Terry Green Yay
Councilman David Quarry Yay

Borough Secretary Richard King reported the roll call vote of Councilwoman Dee Dee Brown for President Pro-Temp was 7-Yay and 0-Nay.

President James Bair reported that Councilwoman Dee Dee Brown was elected President Pro-Temp of Borough Council.

President James Bair said he will now set the day and time of Borough Council meetings.

The Borough Council meetings will be held on the 3rd Tuesday of every month at 7:30 PM in the Borough Council room.

President James Bair said he will set the committee members assignments for a chairman and 2 members.

Maintenance Chairman Terry Green

Member David Quarry Member Jennifer Powell

Water & Sewer Chairman David Quarry

Member Terry Green Member Bob Jackson Public Safety Chairman Dee Dee Brown

Member David Fortson Member James Bair

Community Development Chairman Bob Jackson

Member Jennifer Powell Member Dee Dee Brown

Parks, Recreation & Public Property Chairman David Fortson

Member Bob Jackson Member Dee Dee Brown

Administrative Chairman James Bair

Member David Fortson Member David Quarry

There was a discussion on the times of the meetings.

The Committee meetings time will be Maintenance @ 2:00 PM; Water & Sewer @ 3:00 PM; Public Safety @ 4:00 PM; Community Development @ 5:00 PM; Parks, Recreation & Public Property @ 6:00 PM; and Administrative @ 7:00 PM.

President James Bair ask for any other business.

Borough Manager Chris Stevens said that Steve Williams will be retiring on January 4, 2022.

Borough Manager Chris Stevens thanked the past Borough Council members and said they did great things and had their best interest in Huntingdon Borough.

Councilman Bob Jackson said the sign has been placed on the trails and said there will be a dedication in the near future.

After no further business, the Reorganizational meeting was adjourned at 7:30 PM.

Minutes submitted by,

Richard S. King Borough Secretary